Printed from: Society of Decision Professionals

Print Page


2016 Election Results

SDP announced today the results of its recent election of directors and officers for a new term that begins July 1.     

The newly elected board of directors includes global decision professionals from both the public and private sectors, ensuring that SDP will continue to benefit from diverse experience, knowledge, and skills. SDP's board now numbers 13. 

Elected as officers are Ellen Coopersmith, Vice President/President-Elect, and Henk Krijnen, Treasurer. Elected as board members are Jim Driscoll, Tyler Ludlow and Amy Stranieri. Remaining as officers are Larry Neal as President and Eric Johnson as Secretary. Steve Begg, Karen Jenni, Bruce Judd, Elayne Ko, William Leaf-Herrmann and Somik Raha comprise the remainder of the Board.

Outgoing officers are Jack Kloeber, outgoing President and Steve Tani, outgoing Treasurer. Terry Bresnick, Raymond Fonk and Tim Nieman comprise the remaining outgoing board members. "We sincerely thank the outgoing officers and board members for their efforts over the past three years. They made tremendous contributions to the society.” stated Larry Neal, SDP President. 

The vision of SDP is to support and champion decision professionals as the trusted advisors for decision-makers facing important and complex decisions. Founded on the belief that applied decision science creates the most value in decision situations, SDP is defining the body of knowledge that constitutes the core of the profession, creating standards and expectations of quality, and adhering to well-defined ethical and professional standards. Individuals interested in becoming a member of SDP should contact Hilda Cherekdjian at

Short biographies of board members follow. 

Larry Neal, President, is retired from Chevron Corporation with 38 years of service, 25 of those years as a leader of Chevron’s Decision Analysis Community. 

Ellen Coopersmith, Vice President, is the Founder and President of Decision Frameworks, an international consulting, training and software practice focused on building and supporting decision quality capability around the world. 

Henk Krijnen, Treasurer, has retired from Shell with 35 years of service in the fall of 2015.  Henk has started his own consultancy named NavIncerta ('navigating uncertainty') with a main focus on online training in the space of decision and uncertainty analysis. 

Eric Johnson, Secretary, is an experienced decision professional with PhD training in decision analysis who has served multiple industries, from the inside and as a consultant. He now works at Bristol-Myers Squibb, helping teams formulate excellent drug development strategies.    

Steve Begg is a Professor at the University of Adelaide since 2002, where his focus is on project and portfolio investment decision-making under uncertainty. He delivers both undergraduate and postgraduate DA courses. 

Jim Driscoll leads the Decision Quality Program Office at Intel where he has worked as a financial analyst, manager, and controller since joining the company in 1999. 

Karen Jenni is the founder of Insight Decisions and a professional decision analyst with over 20 years of consulting experience.  She has lead projects applying decision analysis and risk management techniques to energy and environmental policy problems in both the public and private sectors. 

Bruce Judd is the founder and managing director of SDG's executive education practice. He is also curriculum developer and lead instructor for courses in Stanford's Certificate Program in Strategic Decision and Risk Management. 

Elayne Ko currently holds a Director position at the Portfolio and Decision Analysis (PDA) group within Pfizer, Inc. She has over 15 years of experience in applying decision analysis to investment decision-making under uncertainties.  

William Leaf-Herrmann is a Senior Principal at IMS Consulting Group.  He has over 20 years of experience as a business strategist in the life sciences, automotive, chemical, and financial services industries.  

Tyler Ludlow is Senior Decision Scientist at Eli Lilly and Company. Tyler practiced DA in the consumer goods (Unilever) and parental industries.

Amy Stranieri is the Counseling Department Head at Thurston High School where she works to incorporate Decision Quality into the thinking by infusing Decision Quality in decision making into the counseling department and the school at large. 

Somik Raha is currently Product Manager and Associate at Menlo Park-based SmartOrg, Inc., building products to embed Decision Analysis into business work processes.



All Content Rights Reserved , Society of Decision Professionals
Captavi - SaaS CMS Platform ©